2017 Freedom Award recipients announced

Secretary of Defense names 2017 Employer Support Freedom Award recipients

15 exceptional employers recognized with DoD’s top honor for employers


WASHINGTON ­– Secretary of Defense James Mattis announced today the 15 recipients of the 2017 Secretary of Defense Employer Support Freedom Award.  The award is the highest honor given to employers for support of National Guard and Reserve employees.

Selected from 3,064 nominations received from Reserve Component troops across the country, these recipients have gone above and beyond federal requirements in support of their military employees.  The 2017 Freedom Award recipients below will be honored at a Pentagon ceremony August 25:

Accordia Urgent Care & Family Practice
Vidalia, Georgia

Boston Scientific
Marlborough, Massachusetts

Cargill, Inc.
Minnetonka, Minnesota

Comcast NBC Universal
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

CSI Aviation
Albuquerque, New Mexico

Hensel Phelps Construction Company
Greeley, Colorado

Howard County Fire & Rescue
Columbia, Maryland

Indianapolis Fire Department
Indianapolis, Indiana

Johnson & Johnson
New Brunswick, New Jersey

Mesa Natural Gas Solutions
Casper, Wyoming

Office of the District Attorney Eighteenth Judicial District
Centennial, Colorado

Renown Health
Reno, Nevada

Salt River Project
Tempe, Arizona

San Antonio, Texas

Zapata, Inc.
Charlotte, North Carolina

The Freedom Award was instituted in 1996 under the auspices of ESGR to recognize exceptional support from the employer community. Including this year’s recipients, 250 employers have been honored with the award. To learn more about ESGR, visit www.ESGR.mil.